Teacher Education

CSU Education Deans and Associate Deans

Bakersfield
Dr. Kathleen Knutzen, Dean
School of Social Sciences and Education
9001 Stockdale Highway, Bldg. EDUC, Rm. 124
Bakersfield, CA 93311-1022
Phone: 661-654-2210
Fax: 661-664-2016
E-mail: kknutzen@csub.edu

Dr. Steve Bacon, Associate Dean
School of Social Sciences and Education
9001 Stockdale Highway, Bldg. EDUC, Rm. 115
Bakersfield, CA 93311-1022
Phone: 661-654-6710
E-mail: sbacon@csub.edu

Channel Islands
Dr. Gary Kinsey, Associate Vice President
Academic Affairs & Director
School of Education
Bell Tower East, Room 2813
One University Drive
Camarillo, CA 93012
Phone: 805-437-2002
Email: gary.kinsey@csuci.edu

Dr. Manuel Correia, Graduate Programs Chair
School of Education
One University Drive
Camarillo, CA 93012
Phone: 805-437-3292
E-mail: manuel.correia@csuci.edu

Chico
Dr. Angela Trethewey, Dean
College of Communication & Education
400 West First Street, Bldg. THMA 203
Chico, CA 95929-0145
Phone: 530-898-6177
Fax: 530-898-4345
E-mail: atrethewey@csuchico.edu

Dr. Deborah Summers, Associate Dean/Director
School of Education
400 West First Street, THMA 279
Chico, CA 95929-0145
Phone: 530-898-6421
E-mail: dsummers@csuchico.edu

Dominguez Hills
Dr. John Davis, Interim Dean
College of Education
1000 E. Victoria Street
Carson, CA 90747
Telephone: 310-243-3518
E-mail: jdavis@csudh.edu

Dr. Diane Hembacher, Acting Associate Dean
College of Education
1000 E. Victoria Street
Carson, CA 90747
Telephone: 310-243-3510
E-mail: dhembacher@csudh.edu

East Bay
Dr. Carolyn Nelson, Dean
College of Education & Allied Studies
25800 Carlos Bee Blvd., AE 111
Hayward, CA 94542-3074
Phone: 510-885-3942
Fax: 510-885-2283
E-mail: Carolyn.nelson@csueastbay.edu

Dr. Jeanette Bicais, Interim Associate Dean
College of Education and Allied Studies
25800 Carlos Bee Blvd.
Hayward, CA 94542-3074
Phone: (510) 885-7418
Fax: (510) 885-2283
E-mail: Jeanette.bicais@csueastbay.edu

Fresno
Dr. Paul Beare, Dean
Kremen School of Education & Human Development
5005 N. Maple Ave., M/S ED1
Fresno, CA 93740
Phone: 559-278-0210
Fax: 559-278-0113
E-mail: pbeare@csufresno.edu

Dr. James Marshall, Associate Dean
Kremen School of Education & Human Development
5005 N. Maple Ave., M/S ED1
Fresno, CA 93740
Phone: 559-278-0170
Fax: 559-278-0113
E-mail: jamesm@csufresno.edu

Fullerton
Dr. Claire Cavallaro, Dean
College of Education
California State University, Fullerton
800 N. State College Blvd., CP-500-05
Fullerton, CA 92834-6868
Phone: 657-278-8257
Fax: 657-278-3110
E-mail: ccavallaro@fullerton.edu

Dr. Lisa Kirtman, Associate Dean
College of Education
800 N. State College Blvd., CP-500-08
Phone: 657-278-5901
Fax: 657-278-3110
E-mail: lkirtman@fullerton.edu

Humboldt
Dr. John Lee, Dean
College of Professional Studies
One Harpst Street
Arcata, CA 95521
Phone: 707-826-3961
Fax: 707-826-3963
E-mail: john.lee@humboldt.edu

Dr. Mary Glenn, Associate Dean
College of Professional Studies
One Harpst Street
Arcata, CA 95521
Phone: 707-826-3961
Fax: 707-826-3963
E-mail: mary.glenn@humboldt.edu

Long Beach
Dr. Marquita Grenot-Scheyer, Dean
College of Education
1250 Bellflower Blvd., ED1 005, MS 2201
Long Beach, CA 90840-2201
Phone: 562-985-4513
Fax: 562-985-4951
E-mail: marquita.grenot-scheyer@csulb.edu

Dr. Shireen Pavri, Associate Dean
College of Education
1250 Bellflower Blvd., ED1 006, MS 2201
Long Beach, CA 90840-2201
Phone: 562-985-5646
Fax: 562-985-4951
E-mail: shireen.pavri@csulb.edu

Dr. Cynthia Grutzik, Associate Dean
College of Education
1250 Bellflower Blvd., ED1-48, MS 2201
Long Beach, CA 90840-2201
Phone: 562-985-7973
Fax: 562-985-4951
E-mail: Cynthia.Grutzik@csulb.edu

Los Angeles
Dr. Eunsook Hyun, Dean & Professor of Curriculum Studies
Charter College of Education
5151 State University Dr., KH D2069
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Phone: 323-343-4300
Fax: 323-343-4318
E-mail: eunsook.hyun@calstatela.edu

Dr. Diane Fazzi, Associate Dean
Charter College of Education
5151 State University Dr., KH D2070
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Phone: 323-343-4303
Fax: 323-343-4318
E-mail: dfazzi@calstatela.edu

Monterey Bay
Dr. Jose Luis Alvarado, Dean
College of Education
100 Campus Center
Building 21 - Beach Hall East, Divarty Street
Seaside, CA 93955
Phone: 831-582-5190
Fax: 831-582-4568
E-mail: alvarado@csumb.edu

Northridge
Dr. Michael E. Spagna, Dean
Michael D. Eisner College of Education
18111 Nordhoff St., ED 3121
Northridge, CA 91330-8265
Phone: 818-677-2590
Fax: 818-677-4000
E-mail: michael.spagna@csun.edu

Dr. Beverly Cabello, Associate Dean
Michael D. Eisner College of Education
18111 Nordhoff St., ED 3121
Northridge, CA 91330-8265
Phone: 818-677-2590
Fax: 818-677-4000
E-mail: bcabello@csun.edu

Pomona
Dr. Peggy Kelly, Dean
College of Education and Integrative Studies
3801 W. Temple Ave., 5-230
Pomona, CA 91768
Phone: 909-869-2304
Fax: 909-869-4747
E-mail: pkelly@csupomona.edu

Dr. Nancy Hurlbut, Associate Dean
College of Education and Integrative Studies
3801 W. Temple Ave., 6-214
Pomona, CA 91768
Phone: 909-869-2319
Fax: 909-869-4747
E-mail: nhurlbut@csupomona.edu

Sacramento
Dr. Vanessa Sheared, Dean
College of Education
6000 J Street, Eureka Hall Rm. 204
Sacramento, CA 95819-6079
Phone: 916-278-5883
Fax: 916-278-5904
E-mail: vsheared@csus.edu

Dr. Karen Davis O'Hara
Interim Associate Dean
College of Education
6000 J Street, Eureka Hall Rm. 206
Sacramento, CA 95819-6079
Phone: 916-278-5088
Fax: 916-278-5904
E-mail: kdohara@csus.edu

San Bernardino
Dr. Jay Fiene, Dean
College of Education
5500 University Parkway, CE-221C
San Bernardino, CA 92407
Phone: 909-537-7011 7621
Fax: 909-537-7031 7011
E-mail: jfiene@csusb.edu

Dr. Mick Verdi, Associate Dean
College of Education
5500 University Parkway, CE-221L
San Bernardino, CA 92407
Phone: 909-537-7530
Fax: 909-537-7039
E-mail: mverdi@csusb.edu

San Diego
Dr. Joe Johnson, Dean
College of Education
5500 Campanile Drive, NE162G
San Diego, CA 92182-1424
Phone: 619-594-1423
Fax: 619-594-7082
E-mail: jjohnson@mail.sdsu.edu

Dr. Nancy Farnan, Interim Associate Dean
College of Education
5500 Campanile Drive, NE162G
San Diego, CA 92182-1154
Phone: 619-594-1366
Fax: 619-594-7082
E-mail: nfarnan@mail.sdsu.edu

San Francisco
Dr. Judith Munter, Dean
Graduate College of Education
1600 Holloway Avenue
Burk Hall, Room 501
San Francisco, CA 94132
Phone: 415-338-2687
Fax: 415-405-0564
E-mail: jhmunter@sfsu.edu

Dr. Patricia Irvine, Associate Dean
Graduate College of Education
1600 Holloway Avenue
501 Burk Hall
San Francisco, CA 94132
Phone: 415-338-1031
Fax: 415-338-7019
E-mail: pirvine@sfsu.edu

San Jose
Dr. Elaine Chin, Dean
Connie L. Lurie College of Education
One Washington Square
Sweeney Hall 102
San José, California USA, 95192- 0071
Phone: 408-924-3601
Fax: 408-924-3713
E-mail: elaine.chin@sjsu.edu

Dr. Mary McVey, Associate Dean
Connie L. Lurie College of Education
One Washington Square
Sweeney Hall 104
San José, California USA, 95192- 0071
Phone: 408-924-3607
Fax: 408-924-3713
E-mail: mary.mcvey@sjsu.edu

San Luis Obispo
Dr. Jon Margerum-Leys, Dean
School of Education
Building 2, Room 120
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407-0389
Phone: 805-756-1503
Fax: 805-756-7422
E-mail: jmargeru@calpoly.edu

San Marcos
Dr. Janet Powell, Dean
College of Education, Health and Human Services
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
Phone: 760-750-4311
Fax: 760-750-4323
E-mail: jpowell@csusm.edu

Dr. Manuel Vargas
Interim Director, School of Education
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Road
University Hall 212
San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
Phone: 760-750-8545
Fax: 760-750-4323
E-mail: mvargas@csusm.edu

Sonoma
Dr. Carlos Ayala, Dean
School of Education
Stevenson Hall, 1078
1801 E. Cotati Avenue
Rohnert Park, CA 94928
Phone: 707-664-2132
Fax: 707-664-2483
E-mail: carlos.ayala@sonoma.edu

Stanislaus
Dr. Oddmund Myhre, Dean
College of Education, Kinesiology, and Social Work
One University Circle, DBH 301B
Turlock, CA 95382
Phone: 209-667-3652
Fax: 209-664-6613
E-mail: OMyhre@csustan.edu

Teacher Education and Public School Programs